summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>2013-11-14 14:31:07 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-11-15 09:32:15 +0900
commite009bb30c8df8a52a9622b616b67436b6a03a0cd (patch)
treeaf36a8ea7ff8acb0bcc22130b28c3dd38cfa35d0 /include
parentc4088ebdca64c9a2e34a38177d2249805ede1f4b (diff)
downloadlinux-e009bb30c8df8a52a9622b616b67436b6a03a0cd.tar.gz
linux-e009bb30c8df8a52a9622b616b67436b6a03a0cd.tar.xz
mm: implement split page table lock for PMD level
The basic idea is the same as with PTE level: the lock is embedded into struct page of table's page. We can't use mm->pmd_huge_pte to store pgtables for THP, since we don't take mm->page_table_lock anymore. Let's reuse page->lru of table's page for that. pgtable_pmd_page_ctor() returns true, if initialization is successful and false otherwise. Current implementation never fails, but assumption that constructor can fail will help to port it to -rt where spinlock_t is rather huge and cannot be embedded into struct page -- dynamic allocation is required. Signed-off-by: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Tested-by: Alex Thorlton <athorlton@sgi.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: "Eric W . Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: "Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Robin Holt <robinmholt@gmail.com> Cc: Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@gmail.com> Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Reviewed-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/mm.h32
-rw-r--r--include/linux/mm_types.h7
2 files changed, 38 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/mm.h b/include/linux/mm.h
index 861cad5..255750d 100644
--- a/include/linux/mm.h
+++ b/include/linux/mm.h
@@ -1378,13 +1378,45 @@ static inline void pgtable_page_dtor(struct page *page)
((unlikely(pmd_none(*(pmd))) && __pte_alloc_kernel(pmd, address))? \
NULL: pte_offset_kernel(pmd, address))
+#if USE_SPLIT_PMD_PTLOCKS
+
+static inline spinlock_t *pmd_lockptr(struct mm_struct *mm, pmd_t *pmd)
+{
+ return &virt_to_page(pmd)->ptl;
+}
+
+static inline bool pgtable_pmd_page_ctor(struct page *page)
+{
+ spin_lock_init(&page->ptl);
+#ifdef CONFIG_TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE
+ page->pmd_huge_pte = NULL;
+#endif
+ return true;
+}
+
+static inline void pgtable_pmd_page_dtor(struct page *page)
+{
+#ifdef CONFIG_TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE
+ VM_BUG_ON(page->pmd_huge_pte);
+#endif
+}
+
+#define pmd_huge_pte(mm, pmd) (virt_to_page(pmd)->pmd_huge_pte)
+
+#else
+
static inline spinlock_t *pmd_lockptr(struct mm_struct *mm, pmd_t *pmd)
{
return &mm->page_table_lock;
}
+static inline bool pgtable_pmd_page_ctor(struct page *page) { return true; }
+static inline void pgtable_pmd_page_dtor(struct page *page) {}
+
#define pmd_huge_pte(mm, pmd) ((mm)->pmd_huge_pte)
+#endif
+
static inline spinlock_t *pmd_lock(struct mm_struct *mm, pmd_t *pmd)
{
spinlock_t *ptl = pmd_lockptr(mm, pmd);
diff --git a/include/linux/mm_types.h b/include/linux/mm_types.h
index 566df57..9342610 100644
--- a/include/linux/mm_types.h
+++ b/include/linux/mm_types.h
@@ -24,6 +24,8 @@
struct address_space;
#define USE_SPLIT_PTE_PTLOCKS (NR_CPUS >= CONFIG_SPLIT_PTLOCK_CPUS)
+#define USE_SPLIT_PMD_PTLOCKS (USE_SPLIT_PTE_PTLOCKS && \
+ IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_ARCH_ENABLE_SPLIT_PMD_PTLOCK))
/*
* Each physical page in the system has a struct page associated with
@@ -63,6 +65,9 @@ struct page {
* this page is only used to
* free other pages.
*/
+#if defined(CONFIG_TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE) && USE_SPLIT_PMD_PTLOCKS
+ pgtable_t pmd_huge_pte; /* protected by page->ptl */
+#endif
};
union {
@@ -406,7 +411,7 @@ struct mm_struct {
#ifdef CONFIG_MMU_NOTIFIER
struct mmu_notifier_mm *mmu_notifier_mm;
#endif
-#ifdef CONFIG_TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE
+#if defined(CONFIG_TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE) && !USE_SPLIT_PMD_PTLOCKS
pgtable_t pmd_huge_pte; /* protected by page_table_lock */
#endif
#ifdef CONFIG_CPUMASK_OFFSTACK