summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>2013-11-14 14:31:02 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-11-15 09:32:14 +0900
commitcb900f41215447433cbc456d1c4294e858a84d7c (patch)
tree1f3704d9a023a20baa2872d6639a58387ef2d7c2 /include
parentc389a250ab4cfa4a3775d9f2c45271618af6d5b2 (diff)
downloadlinux-cb900f41215447433cbc456d1c4294e858a84d7c.tar.gz
linux-cb900f41215447433cbc456d1c4294e858a84d7c.tar.xz
mm, hugetlb: convert hugetlbfs to use split pmd lock
Hugetlb supports multiple page sizes. We use split lock only for PMD level, but not for PUD. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes] Signed-off-by: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Tested-by: Alex Thorlton <athorlton@sgi.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: "Eric W . Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: "Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Robin Holt <robinmholt@gmail.com> Cc: Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@gmail.com> Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/hugetlb.h26
-rw-r--r--include/linux/swapops.h7
2 files changed, 30 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/hugetlb.h b/include/linux/hugetlb.h
index 0393270..acd2010 100644
--- a/include/linux/hugetlb.h
+++ b/include/linux/hugetlb.h
@@ -392,6 +392,15 @@ static inline int hugepage_migration_support(struct hstate *h)
return pmd_huge_support() && (huge_page_shift(h) == PMD_SHIFT);
}
+static inline spinlock_t *huge_pte_lockptr(struct hstate *h,
+ struct mm_struct *mm, pte_t *pte)
+{
+ if (huge_page_size(h) == PMD_SIZE)
+ return pmd_lockptr(mm, (pmd_t *) pte);
+ VM_BUG_ON(huge_page_size(h) == PAGE_SIZE);
+ return &mm->page_table_lock;
+}
+
#else /* CONFIG_HUGETLB_PAGE */
struct hstate {};
#define alloc_huge_page_node(h, nid) NULL
@@ -401,6 +410,7 @@ struct hstate {};
#define hstate_sizelog(s) NULL
#define hstate_vma(v) NULL
#define hstate_inode(i) NULL
+#define page_hstate(page) NULL
#define huge_page_size(h) PAGE_SIZE
#define huge_page_mask(h) PAGE_MASK
#define vma_kernel_pagesize(v) PAGE_SIZE
@@ -421,6 +431,22 @@ static inline pgoff_t basepage_index(struct page *page)
#define dissolve_free_huge_pages(s, e) do {} while (0)
#define pmd_huge_support() 0
#define hugepage_migration_support(h) 0
+
+static inline spinlock_t *huge_pte_lockptr(struct hstate *h,
+ struct mm_struct *mm, pte_t *pte)
+{
+ return &mm->page_table_lock;
+}
#endif /* CONFIG_HUGETLB_PAGE */
+static inline spinlock_t *huge_pte_lock(struct hstate *h,
+ struct mm_struct *mm, pte_t *pte)
+{
+ spinlock_t *ptl;
+
+ ptl = huge_pte_lockptr(h, mm, pte);
+ spin_lock(ptl);
+ return ptl;
+}
+
#endif /* _LINUX_HUGETLB_H */
diff --git a/include/linux/swapops.h b/include/linux/swapops.h
index 8d4fa82..c0f7526 100644
--- a/include/linux/swapops.h
+++ b/include/linux/swapops.h
@@ -139,7 +139,8 @@ static inline void make_migration_entry_read(swp_entry_t *entry)
extern void migration_entry_wait(struct mm_struct *mm, pmd_t *pmd,
unsigned long address);
-extern void migration_entry_wait_huge(struct mm_struct *mm, pte_t *pte);
+extern void migration_entry_wait_huge(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
+ struct mm_struct *mm, pte_t *pte);
#else
#define make_migration_entry(page, write) swp_entry(0, 0)
@@ -151,8 +152,8 @@ static inline int is_migration_entry(swp_entry_t swp)
static inline void make_migration_entry_read(swp_entry_t *entryp) { }
static inline void migration_entry_wait(struct mm_struct *mm, pmd_t *pmd,
unsigned long address) { }
-static inline void migration_entry_wait_huge(struct mm_struct *mm,
- pte_t *pte) { }
+static inline void migration_entry_wait_huge(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
+ struct mm_struct *mm, pte_t *pte) { }
static inline int is_write_migration_entry(swp_entry_t entry)
{
return 0;