summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>2013-11-14 14:30:54 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-11-15 09:32:14 +0900
commitbf929152e9f6c49b66fad4ebf08cc95b02ce48f5 (patch)
tree21b54239e0ad98f12a44039047ed96d775e6c67d /include
parent9a86cb7bdc4ccbe3f99a1ca275b90a322a90f9ce (diff)
downloadlinux-bf929152e9f6c49b66fad4ebf08cc95b02ce48f5.tar.gz
linux-bf929152e9f6c49b66fad4ebf08cc95b02ce48f5.tar.xz
mm, thp: change pmd_trans_huge_lock() to return taken lock
With split ptlock it's important to know which lock pmd_trans_huge_lock() took. This patch adds one more parameter to the function to return the lock. In most places migration to new api is trivial. Exception is move_huge_pmd(): we need to take two locks if pmd tables are different. Signed-off-by: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Tested-by: Alex Thorlton <athorlton@sgi.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: "Eric W . Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: "Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Robin Holt <robinmholt@gmail.com> Cc: Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@gmail.com> Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/huge_mm.h14
1 files changed, 7 insertions, 7 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/huge_mm.h b/include/linux/huge_mm.h
index 3935428..4aca0d8 100644
--- a/include/linux/huge_mm.h
+++ b/include/linux/huge_mm.h
@@ -129,15 +129,15 @@ extern void __vma_adjust_trans_huge(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
unsigned long start,
unsigned long end,
long adjust_next);
-extern int __pmd_trans_huge_lock(pmd_t *pmd,
- struct vm_area_struct *vma);
+extern int __pmd_trans_huge_lock(pmd_t *pmd, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
+ spinlock_t **ptl);
/* mmap_sem must be held on entry */
-static inline int pmd_trans_huge_lock(pmd_t *pmd,
- struct vm_area_struct *vma)
+static inline int pmd_trans_huge_lock(pmd_t *pmd, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
+ spinlock_t **ptl)
{
VM_BUG_ON(!rwsem_is_locked(&vma->vm_mm->mmap_sem));
if (pmd_trans_huge(*pmd))
- return __pmd_trans_huge_lock(pmd, vma);
+ return __pmd_trans_huge_lock(pmd, vma, ptl);
else
return 0;
}
@@ -215,8 +215,8 @@ static inline void vma_adjust_trans_huge(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
long adjust_next)
{
}
-static inline int pmd_trans_huge_lock(pmd_t *pmd,
- struct vm_area_struct *vma)
+static inline int pmd_trans_huge_lock(pmd_t *pmd, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
+ spinlock_t **ptl)
{
return 0;
}